Skip to main content

The Curriculum in Public Policy Analysis was established in 1979. It was one of the first undergraduate degree programs nationally in public policy and a charter member of the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM). In 1991, an interdisciplinary Ph.D. Curriculum in Public Policy was added, and in 2002, the two curricula were combined to become the present UNC (Department of) Public Policy.

As of the fall 2013 semester, Public Policy has grown from approximately 180 undergraduate majors and 43 minors (October 2009), to 311 undergraduate majors and 51 undergraduate minors for the fall 2013 semester.  The graduate (Ph.D.) program has 26 students including 4 international students (representing Canada, India, South Korea, and Ghana). Enrollments in PLCY courses have continued to increase since the time of the closure report. In recent years Public Policy has taught approximately 5,000 credit hours per year, and in the fall 2013 semester we have taught a total of 3,209 credit hours, more than a 12 percent increase over any previous semester.

In May 2013 the Department of Public Policy had its largest graduating class of undergraduates to date, with 100 majors graduating.  Public Policy continues to attract high quality students, as indicated by the various awards and recognitions received by the University. In 2013, 5 of the 17 Chancellor’s Awards that are not restricted by major were awarded to PLCY students: these awards include the John Johnston Parker, Jr. Medal for Unique Leadership in Student Government, the Gladys and Albert Coates Award, the Edward Kidder Graham Award, the Jane Craige Gray Memorial Award, and the Robert B. House Distinguished Service Award. During Fall 2013, 5 of our undergraduate majors were inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society. Public Policy majors since the Department’s most recent external review have also won distinguished external awards.  In 2012-2013, 2 of our students were recognized with the Luce Scholarship and the Fulbright Scholarship respectively.

In our graduate program, we currently have 3 Royster Fellows, the Graduate School’s flagship fellowship program, and one of our 2012-13 Royster Fellows was selected by the Graduate School to serve as the mentor to this year’s entering Royster Fellows. In our first year cohort who entered in Fall 2013, we have a Royster Fellow, a Weiss Fellow, and a NC Minority Presence Fellow.