As of mid-2015, we now have a core tenure-track faculty of 15 plus 3 fixed term full time lecturers,  approximately 10 affiliated faculty and 4 professors emeriti. Our interdisciplinary faculty have Ph.D. in economics, health policy, history, public policy, philosophy, political science and sociology.

UNC Public Policy’s undergraduate enrollment has grown to approximately 350 majors, and for each of the past several years it has graduated just over 100 majors per year.

Public Policy has grown from approximately 180 undergraduate majors and 43 minors (October 2009), to 343 undergraduate majors and 51 undergraduate minors for the fall 2015 semester.  The graduate (Ph.D.) program has 30 students including 6 international students (representing Brazil, Netherlands, Canada, India, South Korea, and Ghana). In recent years Public Policy has taught approximately 5,000 credit hours per year, and in the fall 2015 semester we have taught a total of 3181 credit hours, more than an 8 percent increase over any previous semester.

In May 2015 the Department of Public Policy had its largest graduating class of undergraduates to date, with 125 majors graduating.  Public Policy continues to attract high quality students, as indicated by the various awards and recognitions received by the University. In 2015, a PLCY student won the E. Eugene Jackson Award, 1 of the 17 Chancellor’s Awards that are not restricted by major.  Since 2013 PLCY students have been recognized with Chancellor’s Awards including the John Johnston Parker, Jr. Medal for Unique Leadership in Student Government, the Gladys and Albert Coates Award, the Edward Kidder Graham Award, the Jane Craige Gray Memorial Award, and the Robert B. House Distinguished Service Award. During Fall 2015, 7 of our undergraduate majors were inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society. During Spring 2016, 5 of our undergraduate majors were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa. Since 2013, Public Policy majors have also won distinguished external awards, including the Luce Scholarship, the Fulbright Scholarship, and the Pickering Foreign Affairs Fellowship.

In our graduate program, we currently have 3 Royster Fellows, the Graduate School’s flagship fellowship program.